Visit The official website of the Commonwealth of Virginia Agencies | Governor

Search eVA

Search eVA
  Virginia's eProcurment Portal Need Help with eVA? Departmet of General Services
Like us on facebook Follow us on Twitter

I buy for Virginia

I sell to Virginia

Transparency Customer Care Billing
     eVA Home  > eVA Customer Care > eVA  Help
eVA Help
 

The solution to your trouble with eVA may be to change your browser settings. We presume that you have permission from your IT department to change these settings. Your IT department may already set your browser settings to a certain standard.   Keep in mind if you change browser settings, other programs might be affected.  Example: removing AutoComplete may affect your ability to login to other programs if you do not know your login and password.

 If this is ok, please enter your name and support key then click CONTINUE to establish an eVA support connection.

 



“Frequently Asked Questions”
Q: How does this service work?
A: Once you connect to the service, you'll be prompted to download a small application which will allow one of our support representatives to help you with your problem or question using Chat or one of the tools which will allow the support representative to share your mouse and keyboard for quick, easy service. At any time during a session, you can retake control of your computer just by moving your mouse or pausing the session using the application. In other words, you can have our support representative solve a problem for you while you watch, or you can have the support representative tell you what to do step-by-step. You will be in charge at all times.
 
Q: Can a support representative look through files on my computer without my knowledge?
A: Absolutely not. Our screen-sharing feature is optional – your representative sees only what you see and whatever you decide to show him/her on your screen. If a support representative thinks it might be helpful to share your screen or open a file on your computer, he/she will suggest this and then ask for your permission before doing so. The only way for a support representative to work with your computer is through your explicit request for service.

 

Q: How can I save the Chat dialog from my session to review later?
A: You may save the Chat dialog between you and your support representative. This feature is available in the Chat box where you and your support representative communicate. To save a copy of your Chat dialog, go to the File menu in the Chat box and select Save Chat Log. By saving your Chat dialog periodically throughout your session, you will always have the most current log on file. Once you have chosen this option, a window will pop up asking where you would like to save the file. The file will be saved as "chatlog.txt" by default, but you can easily rename it. Finally, click Save to save the file. After you have saved the session you can open the file and print your Chat dialog.
 
Q: Is it true that my support representative can see everything on my screen?
A: Yes. But before your support representative views your screen, he or she will first ask your permission and request that you close all documents containing private information. Let's say you're having trouble finding an updated video driver on the Web. Rather than calling a phone number and trying to explain the problem, a live support representative can tell you what to do (by typing instructions for you in the Chat window), or he or she can do it for you (by using your mouse and keyboard remotely) while you watch and learn. It's like having your own personal support representative sitting right next to you.
 
Q: I have heard that it is dangerous to download from the Internet. Is the plug-in virus free?
A: Yes, the plug-in is safe! We're as concerned as you are about this issue, so regular virus checks and updates are conducted. This helps us maintain our technology at the highest standard to ensure superior quality service. The warning message you may see on your screen is a default message that is displayed by your browser when you download any executable files. You can feel confident using this plug-in.
 
Q: How is security maintained?
A: At the beginning of a screen-sharing session, you and your support representative are connected via a communication server. The screen data that is passed between you and your support representative during a session is highly compressed using proprietary technology that can be viewed only with GoToAssist software. This data is also encrypted using 128-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption. Privacy principles are TRUSTe compliant. After the session has ended, your support representative can no longer see your screen or access your computer unless you make another explicit request for support.
 
Q: Are there any files or folders left on my computer after the session ends?
A: The downloaded file stays on your computer; however, the file is useless without a new "encryption key." To download a new encryption key, you would need to initiate a subsequent session with a support representative. Screen-sharing sessions have to be initiated by you, not a support representative.